The Trail of Lost Hearts by Tracey Garvis Graves

E-Reader Addict Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

My ARC reader red flag is that I’ll desperately want an ARC from a favorite author, be unbelievably excited to get the ARC, and not read it until well after the publication date.

Then the book is fantastic and I hate myself for waiting so long…

I’ve done this to myself for the last four Tracey Garvis Graves books.

When TGG released the cover of The Trail of Lost Hearts six weeks ago, I had great hopes the book would show up on NetGalley soon so I started logging in first thing every morning to see if it was there. Then two days ago I got an email from a marketing coordinator at St. Martin’s Publishing Group WITH A LINK TO THE ARC. This was me:

So I said to myself, “E-Reader Addict, DO NOT do what you usually do when you’re uber-excited to have a TGG ARC in your hands!” And I didn’t! I downloaded the book and started reading while drinking my morning cup of tea, continued until lunch and ate while reading, and finished just as dinner was being put on the table. I couldn’t put it down.

And let me tell you, it’s been a good long while since I read a book in a single day.

There’s nothing I love more than a love story where the relationship develops organically, overcomes realistic challenges, and ends with a happily ever after. Wren and Marshall’s is beautiful.

After a heartbreaking loss and a shocking discovery, Wren Waters leaves her home in Ohio to take a week-long solo geo-caching trip in Oregon. Within minutes on the trail she comes across friendly Marshall, yet throws out major “leave me alone” vibes. But after Marshall comes to Wren’s aid during a terrifying situation, she accepts his offer of teaming up for the remainder of her adventure.

At the end of their week together, neither is wanting the burgeoning relationship to end. Except Marshall has his own demons to fight.

“…maybe the universe wasn’t trying to send me a psychologist. Maybe the universe sent a psychologist who appreciates the company of another person while he’s working through his own grief and pain. Two birds, one stone. I’m paying attention.”

Because Wren is no longer willing to settle for less than she deserves, she heads home on her own, holding onto her belief that the universe will send you what you truly need. However once she’s home, she faces doubt and challenges she didn’t know she could endure.

One of the things I love most about TGG books is that her characters seem like real people – like ones I’d actually know in real life, facing real-life situations. And there are so many things I love about this story. At the top of the list: mature characters who have actual issues to work through. I loved Wren’s growth from overwhelming doubt to removing herself from a potential relationship that clearly wasn’t starting out on the right path. And I love stories where the couple knows they belong together, but also know they need to do some work to heal themselves first. I love watching the hero and heroine grow, but mostly I love their love story.

I could keep gushing on and on about The Trail of Lost Hearts, but I’ll stop here. Let me twll you with this: if you like love stories about mature people facing realistic challenges, read this book!!!

On The Island will always be my favorite TGG book, and I’ve loved everything else she’s written, but The Trail of Lost Hearts just might be my second favorite (maybe tied with Heart-Shaped Hacked – it’s a close call!). I’m so glad I didn’t wait this time, but also a little mad at myself for plowing through this one in practically one sitting. And now I’m faced with the dreaded situation of having to wait extra-long for TGG’s next book (it’s now August 2023 and this publishes in March 2024). I sure wish she’d publish books more often, but it’s hard to complain when everything she writes is so incredibly good.

* thank you to NetGalley, and a HUGE thank you to St. Martin’s Press, for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review

Leave a comment