The Other Side of Disappearing by Kate Clayborn

E-Reader Addict Rating: 🌟🌟½

This author is quite the conundrum for me. I LOVED her very first three books (Chance of a Lifetime series), but the rest have been hit or miss in connecting with me. Sadly, The Other Side of Disappearing was kinda more miss than hit. Which is a shame, because as per usual, Kate Clayborn is a fabulous writer who gives us a story with unique characters and a creative plot.

Thirty-one year old Jess Greene has had custody of her younger half-sister Tegan for the last ten years, ever since her mom took off with a boyfriend and never came back. When Tegan secretly enlists the help of true-crime podcaster Salem Durant and her producer Adam Hawkins to investigate her mother’s disappearance – then agrees to a road trip following clues their mother may have left in postcards – Jess reluctantly consents to participate in the cross-country quest.

As has been the case with Ms. Clayborn’s most recent books, this one took a meandering path as the group of four traveled from state to state in search of the truth. The main characters are lovable (especially the cinnamon roll hero!), and there’s not a cliche thing on a single page.

But I wasn’t pulled into the story. I felt pulled OUT of the main story every time we had a podcast chapter. I was never compelled to read more than a chapter or two at a time. I would probably still be reading except I downloaded the audiobook so I could listen to the last half while doing a day of yard work. (And the narrators are great, by the way!)

I wanted to love this story. I love road trip stories, I love reluctant heroines and their patient heroes. I really enjoy the poetic writing Ms. Clayborn gives her readers. So it pains me to give this book such a low rating. I miss the Kate Clayborn of 2017 who didn’t appear to be trying so hard to be mysterious and depthy (which totally isn’t a word but how else do I describe it?). Some authors need to evolve and grow their writing skills…but in my opinion, Kate Clayborn isn’t one of them. Her earliest books had an effortless charm and I far prefer them to her newer ones.

Will I keep reading this author’s books? Yeah, I probably will. She writes intelligent, witty stories with relatable characters and storylines you won’t read anywhere else. I find myself enjoying them, but don’t usually feel engaged or invested in the story. Maybe how long it’s taken to read her last several books is a me problem? I just don’t know…

* thank you to NetGalley and Kensington Books for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review

Leave a comment